State Library of Victoria \ Inside a dog
Skip to main content

Science Fiction

Predator's Gold

Author:  Philip Reeve

Fleeing from the grim aviators of the Green Storm, witht he cold of the Ice Wastes seeping into their bones, Tom and Hester stumble on the ice city of Anchorage just in time. But Anchorage is not a safe refuge - devastated by plague, the city is barely lurching along, and the young margravine is making a last desperate bid for survival. She has set a course for the dead continent - America.

The Fall of Five

Author:  Pittacus Lore

I thought things would change when we found the others.


We would stop running. We would fight the Mogadorians. And we would win.

But I was wrrong. Even though we have come together, we barely escaped with our lives. And now we're in hiding, figuing out our next move.

Extinction #2: The Explosive Conclusion

Author:  Lizzie Wilcock

Eight of us are marked with the infinity symbol. We are the chosen ones. We have to stop the human extinction.

The chosen eight face a life-or-death mission, one that will force them on a perilous journey back through time and within reach of their enemy, Rufus Keller.

Spin

One night in October when he was ten years old, Tyler Dupree stood in his back yard and watched the stars go out. They all flared into brilliance at once, then disappeared, replaced by a flat, empty black barrier. He and his best friends, Jason and Diane Lawton, had seen what became known as the Big Blackout. It would shape their lives.

Life on Earth is about to get much, much stranger.

The Time of the Reaper

Author:  Andrew Butcher

They call it the Sickness. Nobody knows what causes it or where it comes from. Nobody knows why it only seems to affect the adult population. But everyone knows that if you catch it and you’re over 18, you die. 

Word Hunters: War of the Word Hunters

Author:  Nick Earls

From award-winning author Nick Earls and illustrator Terry Whidborne comes the third and final book in a mysterious, action-packed series for the word nerd in us all.

All Our Yesterdays

Author:  Cristin Terril

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time - All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.


Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Time Riders

Time Riders by Alex Scarrow
Time Riders by Alex Scarrow
Author:  Alex Scarrow

Liam O’Connor should have died at sea in 1912.
Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010.
Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026.

Yet moments before death, someone mysteriously appeared and said, ‘Take my hand ...’

A Confusion of Princes

A Confusion of Princes
A Confusion of Princes
Author:  Garth Nix

I have died three times, and three times been reborn, though I am not yet twenty in the old earth years by which it is still the fashion to measure time. This is the story of my three deaths, and my life between. My name is Khemri.

The Originals

Author:  Cat Patrick

17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets... until they discovered a shocking family secret. They're actually closer than sisters, they're clones. Hiding from a government agency that would expose them, the Best family appears to consist of a single mother with one daughter named Elizabeth. Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take turns going to school, attending social engagements, and a group mindset has always been a de facto part of life...

Then Lizzie meets Sean Kelly, a guy who seems to see into her very soul.